Today’s workout, and other wisdom shared… Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff!

 Bloggers, here is the work out I did today. I really enjoyed it but I felt a tweak in my right knee when bending and flexing, so I’ll be paying attention to that so it doesn’t become a long term injury, fingers crossed!

July 6

Combo lat raises with overhead press dumbbell
Wide grip chin up
Cable cross over chest pulls
Bent over rows
Push ups with feet on bench

Ok, now for the wisdom part…

I got a book from the library called ‘Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff.’ I highly recommend it. One chapter in the book described a really good concept.

Imagine that everyone else in your life is perfectly enlightened, and you, are not enlightened at all…..

Take a moment to let that sink in. You know what it does? It helps you to listen, to ask questions, and to refrain from jumping in and telling other people how it is, which is what we spend a lot of time doing. The net effect is that all of your interactions are less adversarial, and you will see the tension disappear from your conversations and conflicts. Plus, its humbling as anything, you just have to take a back seat, and sometimes that is refreshing.

Having said that, it doesn’t mean that you relinquish power, or compromise your values, you just spend more time trying to understand, rather than being understood.

Try it out – today!!!!!

Peace, and Namaste.

 

14 thoughts on “Today’s workout, and other wisdom shared… Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff!

  1. Here’s hoping the tweak doesn’t worsen. Love the book take out – I already learnt a similar lesson this week about not sharing my perspective….it resulted in quite a cranky outburst from the other party. Thanks for sharing and hope you’re well my friend. Namaste

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Do you notice how many more people are following you than a few weeks ago? Cheers!
    I thought of you when I do any moving. So amazing how tiny stumbling baby steps are the first part of what you do on a regular basis!!!
    The book quote is something I know intimately. I bite my tongue so often I think I should put a stud in the hole my teeth have made!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Didn’t get to much reading of it, but will.
        There’s another book on my shelf that you might like – the art of non-conformity. Look it up if you dont know it

        Like

Leave a Reply

