Today’s workout – and random ramblings….

So I got home from work today, kinda feeling a bit tired I had a long nap. I was only so-so about going for a workout. I got it done though, and surprisingly enough, it was a decent workout too. I seemed to get through my sets with ease. Some days are strong healthy days and some days we struggle. This was a strong day! 8 June 2017 3 (2)

Last night I had dinner with some work colleagues – the team. It was a nice restaurant. Maybe even a bit too nice for the crowd that I was with – they are good people alright, but I think maybe we were a bit out of place – laughing and joking and probably saying stuff that raised some eyebrows in the place.

There’s a guy I work with – complete prairie redneck. Now, I have to add, I have nothing against prairie rednecks, I’d even say I’m kind of fond of them, but I can assure you they don’t hold back when it comes to having a laugh and they don’t waste effort on social graces and political correctness.

He had me laughing so hard that I had to leave the table. It was ridiculous and I felt like a bit of a goose – snickering my way to the entrance to compose myself a bit. I actually laughed to the point of tears. Man, that was refreshing. I haven’t laughed like that in a very long time.

Lately, I feel like I’v8 June 2017 (2)e been doing better. Some blockages have been cleared. I have had time to reflect and adjust to a changing life situation. I feel pretty good. It’s apparent that I am obviously the major influence in my life, and my thoughts and actions have the biggest bearing on success or failure in all of my endeavours. Having said that, I can’t think or act for others, and how people perceive me, or react to me, or act in relation to what I say and do.

So I’m saying – ok. That’s ok. I’ll be alright. We can work together on issues or just avoid each other, it makes no difference to me.

Maybe that’s not entirely true, because I don’t live in a bubble and I do care about the quality of my inter-human relationships, very much actually. I guess I’m saying that I am finding my own direction, and people will either be content to be part of that or they won’t.

So we get one chance in this life. Actually lots of chances in life, but what matters is what we do with that. What I mean is that we only have a certain time on this planet, and so much energy, time, and perhaps entire lives are wasted on negative bullshit. I decided, I don’t want a part of that. Some people have real problems, health, family, employment, substance abuse, etc. I do feel for them. Really. I’m grateful that I have a lot of good in my life, and I’m busy making the most of my opportunities to be the best ‘me’ that I can.

You’re all welcome to join me if you wish.

Namaste 

8 June 2017 2 (2)

 

16 thoughts on “Today’s workout – and random ramblings….

  1. I appreciate you suggested we have more than one chance in life. Too many people think once they’ve blown it, they are done. Nope, thank God we have the opportunity to blow it over and over until we eventually get it right. Or at least sort of on the right track…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a big fan of those nights with new friends that move beyond social graces into genuine connection. And I like the way you tied this dinner in with your reflections on being ok with who you are regardless of others perceptions (while still recognizing the importance of maintaining connections).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Weather is getting a bit too warm for me, but my weekend is fairly light. It should have lots of room for exploring, writing, cooking and enjoying have some downtime. And the gym of course… looking forward to that later. Cardio. Not my favorite! LOL and you?

        Like

  3. Dude!! So much yesss for this post.

    Whilst you can’t control how others perceive or react to you, you can learn to communicate to others in styles that are most appealing to them. This is something that I have struggled to learn despite being surrounded by leaders who do it both effortlessly and honourably.

    But yes, I completely agree with finding what you value most and honouring yourself and your truth. And not being afraid to pursue what is true for you, no matter what others think.

    Namaste to you, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

