Car Troubles – the sequel, a happy ending…

Hi Bloggers,

If you’ve been following me you would have noticed that my Toyota RAV 4, which served us diligently for almost nine years, decidedly shat itself last week. The transmission was slipping like a bastard. I had to make a swift and decisive decision. I decided to park it up. We  just don’t have the money to fix this damn tranny again after the last $6000 repair bill.

So I started looking at cars. I found one that I liked. Its an old-ish Hyundai. Now, I never planned to ever be driving one of these, its just what you find yourself doing when necessity trumps style or appearances etc. I really needed something hopefully reliable, cheap, and that would start in the morning and get me to work and back.

 

SAM_2931
I know, right, setting new standards in class and looks. 

 

The test drive went pretty well. I actually liked it. I talked to the bank, got pre approved, and before you know it I was at the licence and registration agency getting this little puppy registered under my name. I brought it home today. First thing my son said “That’s the stupidest car I’ve ever seen,” soon followed by “It’s so small, and low, how are you going to get into it?” Brat. My wife said something like “ok so your life is a train wreck, now you have the car to match.” Funny, I know.

 

SAM_2933
Sleek lines, modern details, I know, right? 

 

So the key fob thing didn’t work from the get go. I decided to gamble the $10 and buy some new batteries in the vain hope that it would work. Good news is that the remote start actually works. Yeh, I was surprised too. Maybe not a big deal if it doesn’t freeze where you live, but a trip out to the car when you’re not properly dressed on a dark winter morning at -30C will have you convinced that this is a great feature. Strangely, the door lock mechanism doesn’t work to lock the doors – I still have to use the key, but the unlock does work. 1 for 2 I guess.

 

SAM_2929
New battery in the fob thing. Fingers crossed… People in the parking lot probably thought I was fixing a hit or something… 

 

I took it for a little joy ride today. It purrs like a kitten. No doubt I look the ducks nuts in this thing, turning heads all the way down the riverside drive. Actually, that’s complete bullshit. I think its really non-descript. Its like the car your granny drives to the grocery store. But all the same, its actually quite a smooth ride, really.

 

SAM_2932
If you were me, this is what you’d see… 

 

 

SAM_2937
I’m watching you… 

 

 

SAM_2940
Unbelievably, the key fob thing works for the remote start. Ok, another point, the car is not smaller than my hand, its a perspective thing. Its because the car is far away from my hand. I could explain with a diagram if required. 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Car Troubles – the sequel, a happy ending…

Leave a Reply

