Musings from a Saskatoon café… a photo essay/rant/monologue of random thoughts…

I took the bike out today. Its kind of shitty weather. It’s been raining in Saskatoon. Not raining men, not raining cats and dogs, just kind of patchy showers and grey skies. The breeze is cool and fresh. Fresh enough in fact to need a long sleeve hoodie and long pants. Thankfully there was a break in the showers long enough for me to get out with the bike and the camera and get some pictures on a nice ride.

SAM_2790

The tree lined avenues in this city are simply beautiful. Near the river, on the south side of the city the real estate is old, and pricey. Its in the area that I call the ‘golden triangle,’ which effectively takes in the Broadway entertainment district, the university campus and the city centre. I really would have liked to have bought a house in this area, but you need a really fat bank account to find yourself in this neighbourhood – unless you bought back in the early 2000’s or whatever. SAM_2774

It’s the kind of neighbourhood you might find yourself in if you are a lawyer, or a doctor, or a well heeled academic. You might stroll down to the local café on a Saturday morning. Everything is within strolling distance, naturally.

Kids ride bikes and young moms push prams on the sidewalk. Birds chirp in the leafy green trees, that are so well spaced that they intermingle branches above the road and provide that quintessential avenue experience.

I pulled up to the café. I locked my bike and took a couple  of pictures before moving inside. Normally, the outside of the café would be buzzing with activity with chairs and tables set out on the sidewalk. Today those chairs are bunched up. Inside there is an eclectic mix of university types, the obligatory dreadlock haired hippy types, young families, and a multitude of millennial hipster types. The young lady working at the counter makes coffees and re-stocks the in store made cookies and slices in the display window.

SAM_2780

While I sat at the café looking out the window I felt a sense of contentment. Any immediate worries that were on my mind melted away. I was free to enjoy the moment, for what it was. I nice bike ride and a sit in a café. I ordered a cappuccino. That’s what I normally get.

 

SAM_2776
Erm, I forgot that letter I was going to post… 

 

 

SAM_2778
A book exchange box on the street. A great idea. I have some books to exchange… 

 

People rode and walked by. A lady and her daughter entered the café and sat at the chairs nearby me and chatted over a slice of pie or whatever. A young family came in and ordered some drinks. The place was quite full.

SAM_2783

 

SAM_2786
The fern symbol in your cappuccino. A mainstay of any trendy café establishment. 

 

 

 

SAM_2801
If you see this guy, watch out, he’s dodgy as fek. 

 

 

SAM_2800
The Broadway bridge. 

 

 

SAM_2797
The Delta Besborough hotel and city. She was moody today. Still pretty though. 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Musings from a Saskatoon café… a photo essay/rant/monologue of random thoughts…

  1. Hey I loved your pictures and the narrative. It kind of brought alive the rambling easy, wet day you biked through. Great read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

