Car troubles…

So I’ve heard a saying (never actually said it, I promise) “If its got tits or wheels, it’ll give you trouble”.

That may be a little unfair because we all know that there are some reliable vehicles out there in the world that give no trouble at all. So back in 2008, when we first came to Canada, we purchased a 2002 Toyota RAV4. It’s been a fantastic little car. It’s take us far and wide across much of the north west part of North America. Here’s a quick list of the provinces and states our car has taken us:

British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Yukon, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana. It drives great in all types of conditions. I’ve started the engine at -40C after not having plugged in the block heater.

About 6 years ago, or so, it started revving up between gears, maybe like in 2nd gear or whatever (its an automatic). It was clunking badly into reverse, and losing traction while the engine revved harder. I was pretty disappointed but having done the miles we had done in this thing I was ok with it. So I got it into the shop. The job was to get the transmission rebuilt. Price tag $6,000. “Holy fuck!” I said. We got that repair done and drove on for many reliable and happy miles after that.

Recently, that nasty transmission slipping effect has come back with a vengeance. I’m afraid it might be curtains for the little old RAV4. It would be sad to park it up, but I’m fucked if I’ll be paying another $6,000 for a rebuild on the tranny.

So now I find myself browsing Kijiji or whatever for the cheap used cars. Amazingly there seems to be some cars out there for not much money, and I only want something that starts and stops reliably and gets me to work….. happy car shopping eh?

2002 Toyota RAV4 ACA21R Cruiser:
It looks a bit like this, only shittier!
4 thoughts on “Car troubles…

    1. Spanky I don’t have enough money to fix my fekked transmission, so that’s not a good option for me. I’m going for a something cheap and nasty, maybe a chev impala 2001 with 280,000 km on it or something. I can get a shitebox to commute in cheaper than I can get the tranny fixed. Meanwhile, the missus is driving the late-ish model Dodge which is a damn decent vehicle, but I’ve been relegated to 2nd class citizen on the account of me being a complete prick or whatever. So there!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

