Collecting firewood – North East BC

So I used to live in north east British Columbia. We had a wood stove. Lots of times, often on weekends, we would collect firewood from the bush. I had a chainsaw, and we’d jump in the work truck with the kids and dog and head out in search of a decent log to cut up. Often I would split it right there too. Its hard work but enjoyable at the same time.

P1000397
LV33 was my truck. I drove this thing up and down the mountain to go to work.

 

On this day it was very cold. So quiet too. Well away from any hustle and bustle. You can hear yourself think. Apart from the chainsaw noise, that is. I like the bush in BC. Its wild and remote, and has a lot of wildlife. Its a place where you can still find adventure and solitude. There are many walking trails and its one of those really un-trodden places in the world. All the tourists are hitting Jasper and Banff, and right here in the northern rockies foothills we have a thriving natural playground to explore.

P1000403

We lived up here for more than five years. It was a nice time in our lives.

P1000406

P1000394
Beaver dams.

 

Camping at Bear Hole Lake, BC

So here’s a some pictures of where I went camping a few years ago. Just me and my daughter, then about 7 years old, and our dog. I had a rifle right by the tent, because, well, its bear country. It was a nice trip all round. Fond memories. The area is quite remote. We were the only people there. Just us, and a little tent, and the wilderness.

P1000613

Lately I’ve been thinking about doing the getting away from it all thing – hike in camping, that sort of thing. On this trip we drove in. Its a logging road, and can be treacherous because the conditions can change. I recall it being pretty cut up from recent rains and trucks driving on it. Its one of those situations where you hope it doesn’t rain because you might not be getting out…. Hope you enjoy.

P1000629
Rifle resting on tree stump near tent….

P1000617