The Importance of Hot Yoga, and other things…

Hi Bloggers,

Tonight I did hot yoga. It was a really hot session. Of yoga. I’ve done hot yoga maybe 20 to 30 times. I remember the first times that I did it, I was nervous about how the heat would affect me. I don’t handle the heat to well and many times in the past I have had heat exhaustion – particularly living and working in Australia underground in the mine or after working in the hot sun all day.

Thankfully, I found hot yoga to be fairly agreeable with my physiology. I sweat a lot. Tonight the temperature was up to 40 C for the most of the session. Sometimes, I find myself in a kind of mental haze, just going through the movements and allowing the heat to affect my body and mind. You have to give in to it. There might be moments when you feel a little feint, or week or woozy, but so far I’ve never had any ill effects during or after the session.

It provides for a kind of a physical and mental purge. There is meditation and breathing at the start, and also at the end. These are opportunities for reflection and setting an intention for your practice. I normally set my intention to allow love into my heart, and to give love outwards to the world. That goes along with letting go of any frustrations, anxieties, guilt, anger, resentment, etc. It’s impossible to hang on to these kinds of feelings when you are holding a downward dog, or moving through a flow of plank to cobra, to downward dog. 65a396c9be19942f50249dd8acda5d2c[1]

Another couple of significant developments for me – I had a good discussion with my boss. I was able to open up about what is going on in my life, to provide some context (not justification or whatever) for the types of activities that I have been engaged with at work. This allowed me to explain myself in a non adversarial way. It was a good discussion, and he asked if there was anything he could do for me. I felt much relieved, like I’d been carrying a burden that was relieved. 

I also had a counselling session. This too was very beneficial. Just to talk to someone, to share my thoughts and feelings and to get feedback. I felt much more… human. 

7 thoughts on “The Importance of Hot Yoga, and other things…

Leave a Reply

