Workout Routines

Today’s workout was all about the arms – biceps and triceps. I did a bit of ab crunch machine in there too. I thought I might like to share a little bit about what I do in the gym. I work out fairly often, I like to go most days but in reality it averages out to about 4 times a week.

Work, family commitments, energy levels, stress, illness, etc. all get in the way of work out time. But the key is consistency. As you get into the habit of exercising regularly, you will feel the want to go. I have been working out for many years. On and off for a few earlier on in life but these days I’ve been consistent for about 9 years.

For the guys who are built like twigs and aren’t getting ahead in the gym, I recommend that you do your homework on what helps to build muscle mass. Check out Stronglifts 5×5. You can find it on FB. We are all different, and I see some guys that just pop with muscles after their first work out after a 5 year layoff. Unfortunately, we aren’t all put together like that. At the other end of the scale is the puffy guy who puts on pounds easy but the wrong kind and doesn’t seem to be able to shake it.

So I’m an ectomorph. Maybe I’m a mesomorph, or at least I’m looking more like one these days. If you are thinking wtf is an ectomorph, its a skinny body type. High metabolism, does not put weight on easy. Don’t hate me for it, but I’ve always been able to eat anything I want, and never ever got fat. But there’s a kind of downside to this. I have to really eat a lot and work hard in the gym to maintain my 205 lbs. One trip away for work where I can’t access the same amount of calories due to eating at (normal) regular meal times and late dinners means that I shed about 5-8 lbs. By normal I mean that I eat all the time, so being constrained to regular lunch and dinner times keeps me hungry, and losing weight. Heaviest I ever got was about 213 lbs and that was recently, but I cant keep it on, and besides, I start looking a little pudgy around the chin at this stage.

So my basic principal – speaking for myself is this: eat a lot, of healthy foods. I pig out a bit on junk but its not the bulk of my diet. Keep it simple. I don’t do protein shakes much these days – they are very expensive, and I can tell you that I have kept the weight on without them. I drink full cream milk, like 3.25% fat. I like to slam two milkshake sized milk drinks a day – I put Quik in there for flavour.

Workouts should be varied. You don’t generally work out the same body part two days in a row. You need to let everything repair, recover, and grow. I have about 6 different work outs that I rotate. I also change them about every 3 months to something a bit different. It keeps it interesting. I used to do the same workout every day, and didn’t listen to my gym buddies, and wasn’t consuming enough food and kept thinking “this isn’t working, I don’t look any different whether I work out or not”. I was so dumb about things back then.

So, here’s the routine. Take it or leave it. Enjoy! Oh, and one last point, if you work out like a girl you will have girly muscles (which are awesome on girls), so you need to gradually increase your weight and challenge yourself to go heavier, but don’t go crazy, I have done some injuries finding the right amount of weight for each of my exercises. You should feel totally ‘spent’ after each workout if you are really going for it.

Workout A  biceps and legs.  Heavy bicep workout.

Dumbbell bicep curls.

Ezy bar curls.

Zane (cross over) curls

Squats

Calf extensions

Workout B chest and shoulders.

Dumbbell bench press.

Shoulder lat raises.

Chest flyes.

Arnold press

Crunch machine

Workout C biceps and triceps. Light bicep workout hi reps.

Preacher curls on bench

Concentration curls

Incline bench curls

Arm extenders for tricep on bench.

Cable triceps

Workout D mix up.

Overhead press

Power cleans

Hi step ups

Lunges

Chainsaws

Workout E mixup.

Hyper extensions

Incline dumbbell chest press

Leg curls

Leg extensions

Dips

Workout F  

Combo lat raises with overhead press dumbbell

Wide grip chin up

Cable cross over chest pulls

Bent over rows

Push ups with feet on bench

Power clean to squat jerks over head

 

 

Leave a Reply

