Working Out in Hot Shorts – A Natural Option for Me!

Hi Bloggers.

Disclaimer, this will be a completely self absorbed post. If you find yourself rolling your eyes or snickering, good for you. If you’re fist pumping and saying ‘right on!’ then you’re my kind of blogger! Lighten up, have some fun, ok?  On with the post… 

Ok, lets talk about a subject near and dear to my heart, and my arse and thighs and everything else – lycra, spandex, tight shorts, long tights etc. So I haven’t worn baggy shorts in the gym for probably the better part of 10 years, and even before that I was probably mostly or occasionally stepping out in some bun hugging shorts.

So in the scale of worldly important issues – global hunger, nuclear arms, radical politics, it probably doesn’t really rate a mention. On a more personal level, and even culturally, it gets a rating of fuck this is really important to me. So, how/why do I find myself here, on WP blogging about tight shorts? Firstly, this, for me is a celebration. Anytime a person finds simple pleasure or joy in something, then I think its worth celebrating. Secondly, this is a kind of rebellion of sorts, my own counterculture stab at convention and in that way its a middle finger to society, in my own way. I’m not out to be disrespectful, I’m just making my own personal choices without having to have permission or whatever.

So my ‘history’ (just lie on the couch, I’m going to ask you about your mother…) is that there is without a doubt, a sexualized component in this for me. From adolescence, I found the material highly arousing. I liked the way it looks, and feels, and honestly I like the attention it gets. There, I said it, unashamedly. Its out there. Lets all take a breath and accept that. But over the years, the intensity of this experience has normalised somewhat and these days, its more about comfort and function, but I’d be lying if I told you I didn’t enjoy the sensual aspects of wearing this kind of thing 😉 . hot shorts 2

So what happens when a guy steps out in a pair of lycra long tights or shorts? Well, here’s the good news: nothing, or almost nothing. Maybe that could be stated as people are generally respectful or don’t care, or for the most part discrete. I find this aspect liberating, because it is ok, really, its ok. I’ve worn this stuff pretty much everywhere from Walmart to the movies, to camping trips, the café, etc etc. Ok, just to be clear, the hot shorts have only made appearances at the gym. My tight shorts choices for outside the gym are more bike short length above the knee type options or long tights. There are a couple of notable exceptions as to where I wouldn’t wear it – that being the workplace, and family bar-b-que.

There might be the odd comment behind my back – I don’t worry about that. Occasionally, normally younger girls (in pairs) will be elbowing each other and talking behind their hands, ok whatever. If I had any real concerns, it was about how would I be treated by other men? Well, again the good news is that for the vast majority of my experiences, and I mean like hundreds of work outs in various gyms in Australia, Canada and the States, guys are content to work out alongside me with no issues. Further, as I have become more comfortable, it really isn’t an issue, and I talk to people at my gym all the time in general conversation. It’s ok.

But there is a kind of ‘dark side’ to this subject. Lycra, for guys gets a lot of shit. You only have to do a search of opinions etc. to realise that there is the opposite of cultural acceptance when it comes to guys in tights. I think that this is in part body image driven, and in part a kind of man-shaming where our body parts are ‘not supposed’ to be displayed.

While I understand the logic, I think its fucking bullshit. Girls get to wear their Lulu’s hugging their arse and vulvas all over the place, including at the gym, office, or wherever. Disclaimer, I’m not complaining about their fashion choice, in fact I love it when girls wear this stuff. Its a total double standard that I think is bullshit. Further, its often the other guys that guffaw over this subject, with generally derogatory/homophobic comments when the subject comes up in general man-talk in groups. I accept that, I don’t think I’m going to sway public opinion with one post here, but that’s ok.

hot shorts 1 (3)

So there’s a kind of a contradiction going on. If you look at all the instances where men in tight gear is ok, and there are plenty of them – generally sporting arenas, but then there is also dance, yoga, cycling, running (anybody been to a fun run or marathon lately, its a spandexathon for men these days). It seems that all this is ok, or should be ok. Millions of people are watching NFL every week and guys have the tightest material hugging their thighs and arse. I think this is fine, but the contradiction is that is ok in some places, but not others….? That’s fine, it is what it is.

So my favourite shorts? The Better Bodies men’s hotpant. Ok, I’m not on commission here. They feel great. Always team these up with a man thong for support. I just love the way they fit my body and kind of keep everything supported but give me total freedom to move about. I wont lie, having an inch of inseam on my thighs feels wickedly nice!  Don’t worry, in the picture below the shorts were washed, you wont finhot shorts 3d any unfortunate stains even if you strain your eyes!

 

13 thoughts on “Working Out in Hot Shorts – A Natural Option for Me!

  1. Very true, if you were an athlete—football, either kind—or a cyclist charging up L’Alpe d’Huez, lycra is the reason why fans watch. Of course the world practices a double standard, in all sorts of ways. Doesn’t mean you shouldn’t rock your bod with confidence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks Spanky. I was trying not to make the post sound whiny, it really is a positive thing. I feel great wearing this stuff. Over the years my confidence has grown and that has allowed me to enjoy it ‘guilt free’ I guess you’d say. I really like to see both girls and guys in this stuff. A fit bod in tight gear – hello! You’re right about the double standards, they exist everywhere. If I had my way there would be no double standards, we’d just be humans, free to express in our own way!

      Like

  2. Not to dive too deep, but society and men generally get uncomfortable when a man appears as a sexual object (and sweetie, those legs look good!). That’s why it’s OK for women and the let’s-wear-leggings-everywhere trend but also why you may get some looks. Fuck ’em and do your thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ok, I need to digest your blog more – here I am, diving in as suggested (and I will come back as this post clearly requires a better response). But it must be said, nice quads! Assuming glutes aren’t lagging (is that creepy to ask), props for not skipping leg day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

