Musings from a Regina Café

I was staying at the hostel the night before this night too, so I had hours to spend on selfish indulgence including my long black lycra man tights (ANY excuse will do 😉 ) and exploring the city on my mountain bike. That’s my happy place. Keep it simple. I don’t need crowds, I don’t need bars, I don’t need a dozen friends. I just need to be me, and I need my man tights. I don’t care what society thinks about that.

I will admit though, there were some pangs of a kind of loneliness and boredom. Not that that was a problem, I have enough going on in my life so the downtime is a welcome break from the normal routine. I flicked through the ‘Prairie Dogs’ street press and pondered some options for what I might do in the evening. There was some gay drag show events, a poetry writing workshop, some film options, and some other stuff going on. I briefly considered going to see a film about a black man struggling with his sexuality at various stages of his life.

SAM_2300.JPG

I settled for a cappuccino and a very large ginger cookie. Some people seated in the café were talking about all sorts of stuff – roman empires, politics, groupies, that kind of thing (?). I sort of listened and didn’t really have a choice as they were kind of noisy. I didn’t mind. The sun shone through the windows and it was clear outside. A nice day – too windy for sure, but for April in Regina, I was really ok with that.

SAM_2302

I had had a sleep in the early afternoon after my earlier jog and ride around the lake. I visited the museum too. It was really worth a look.  I was quite content. No where to go and no one to answer to. I went to do some sketches, I opened my bag and realised that I had left my sketch book somewhere else, perhaps in my bag at the hostel or in the car. Turns out in my frustrated rush to get out of the house, I had left my sketchbook on the kitchen bench, and I did not pack more than a couple of pairs of underwear (JM man thong, naturally), so I found myself having to wear the same pair for a bit. I know, too much information. Right.

The ginger nut cookie had been frozen I think, and microwaved. This meant that it was warm and soft in the middle, but parts of it were still kind of cold, so that was mildly disappointing. The cappuccino was good though – that’s a photo of the actual café and coffee that I had.

Also, I had broken my nose piece on my glasses when I tried to adjust them and got a little too rough. So my glasses now have one nose piece and that feels a bit odd. I know its a simple thing but that kind of made me not want to engage with people so much because it made me self conscious. Ok, you could totally dissect that with psycho bullshit, but please, spare me.

After the café I rode my bike through the city for a while. I got some more pictures (some of which are on my blog here), and browsed at some nick-nack shops. There was a wedding going on in the park and they were taking pictures of the bride and groom. I had mixed feelings about that. Happy day for them, and I wish them all the best, but I also thought about the struggles and challenges that this young couple were going to go through. They don’t know this of course. There will be issues, as with all human relationships, that’s part of life.

In the end, I didn’t go out that night, I didn’t need to. I went for a walk, and even stuck my head into a couple of bars. It was noisy, they were full of people talking loudly and making conversation. I felt like the odd one out, and wasn’t motivated to even try to talk to people, I don’t really care for it. I went to the hostel, and read some books. Early night, and up this morning to drive back to Saskatoon. Nice way to spend a weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

